Amanda’s Quotations on Writing

I believe in good entertaining writing. I encourage authors to write for an audience desperate for a good read.


·        There’s no such thing as Writer’s Block. The problem you have is laziness.
·        I’m not looking for the great South African novel. I’m looking for a good read.
·        South African novels only sell 2000 copies because consumers don’t like the product.  
·        Delete adverbs, and the authors who overuse them.
·        It’s not about what was said. It’s about what was read. (on being asked about all things literary for SABC3, 2007)
·        You can have your book or you can have your excuses. You can’t have both.
·        You have permission to write badly.
·        One page a day is a 365 page novel in a year.
·        If you have to explain your book, rewrite it. You won’t be there when I’m reading it.
·        Setting is character. Character is setting. 
·        Write a memoir or write a novel.